the illustrated woman

I’m thinking about Corporeal and tattoos.

Because the events of the past decade have been mind-bogglingly life-changing for me, I have often thought of marking the period with a tattoo. However, so far I have not done this. It occurs to me, however, that the Corporeal manuscript is a kind of tattoo, as it delineates a shift in my relationship to body, corporeality–even spirituality. Sometimes it feels as if I’ve dropped any sense of the “spiritual” as something having to do with the unseen, the unspoken, the ether — and instead it has become …just body, just language, just earth. Maybe that’s not entirely true; maybe I remain open to the mysterious. But for now, it feels like drawing lines in the dust.

3 thoughts on “the illustrated woman

Leave a Reply

