The Poetics Thing…

Some poems, and short essay, “A Poetics of Individuality and Community” now up on The Bakery.

With work also by Eileen Tabios, Joi Barrios, Arlene Biala, Rachelle Cruz, Karen Llagas, Luisa Igloria, Melissa Roxas, Melissa Sipin, and Sasha Pimentel Chacon. Edited by Barbara Jane Reyes.

By the way, the photo of me looking wonderfully cynical is by M.A. Fink.

According to Eileen Tabios, her “The Poetics of Educating ‘Shih'” (see it on the Bakery website) is shifting its energies
. And I was thinking that, when you write these things, you’re sort of damned if you do, and damned if you don’t; certainly in my case, various aspects of a “poetics” are bound to change. About my “writing mostly online,” for example. Well, I’m starting to write more on paper now. And that definitely changes things like line breaks, breathing within the line, etc. So, WTH.

I think that “Babylan Poetics” still works for me, with its critique of colonialism, its environmental concerns, and support of indigenous rights, even though I’m pretty much an atheist and secular Buddhist at this point (taking into account the fact that “babaylan” also refers to a Filipina/o spiritual practice). But I’m an atheist with strong ties to community, as well as individual expression, and I respect many aspects of the indigenous world/cosmos view.

Leave a Reply

