Monday, 3/19/2013


Back tracking most of the day, lost this

and that along the way; returned,

                covered ground. Out here, those

several hours after lunch and before dinner

are ghosted

           lack essential nerve. And I've not much

to say, except the state has failed me

again. No surprise; give me an oar

and get me outta here

              bail me or

                             shake me

I'm already full of holes,

little

to say

.

Lines:

Curious, this querying letter from a stranger.

          Just when I had in fact

turned back to begin,

           it made me think again

where I had been.

Rachel Blau DuPlessis, "Draft 20: Incipit," Drafts 1-38, Toll, p. 130.

                            

Leave a Reply

